Friday, July 4, 2008

2008 Science Ficiton Hall of Fame Inductees

On Saturday, June 21, the Science Fiction Hall of Fame held its' 2008 induction ceremony. Those honored this year were Betty and Ian Ballantine (Literature Category), William Gibson (Literature Category), Richard M. Powers (Art Category), and Rod Serling (Film, Television and Media Category.)

All are excellent choices, although of course they hardly need my stamp of approval. The Ballantines launched the Ballantine imprint in 1952, publishing simultaneous hardcovers and paperbacks, original and reprint fiction by authors whose names are now household names such as Bradbury, Clarke and Pohl. Many of the covers were graced by Richard Powers covers some of which I have shown here.

On the basis of his novel Neuromancer and coining and fathering the concept of cyberspace, for that alone William Gibson belongs in the Hall.

And more then anyone else in television and film, Rod Serling brought science fiction into mainstream homes with his Twilight Zone and his opening line - "You are traveling through another dimension, a dimension not only of sight and sound but of mind. A journey into a wondrous land of imagination. Next stop, the Twilight Zone!"

1 comment:

For bloggers comments are like water to a man (or woman) wandering in the desert. A precious commodity. I love to hear from everyone and do my best to respond to every post.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...